State offices remain closed in some counties until noon Thursday

By: - February 22, 2023 8:00 pm

Gov. Kristi Noem ordered state government executive branch offices in certain counties to remain closed until noon on Thursday because of the winter storms in South Dakota, according to a news release.

State offices will remain closed until noon in the following counties: Aurora, Beadle, Brookings, Brown, Buffalo, Campbell, Clark, Codington, Davison, Day, Deuel, Douglas, Edmunds, Faulk, Grant, Hamlin, Hand, Hanson, Hutchinson, Hyde, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Lake, Lincoln, Marshall, McCook, McPherson, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Potter, Sanborn, Spink, Sully, Turner, and Walworth.

While executive branch offices in these counties will be closed, state employees will work remotely.

Much of the eastern part of the state remains in a blizzard warning until noon Thursday. The western part and the southeasternmost portion of the state will be in a winter storm warning.

Citizens should be prepared to stay home if possible. Many state highways already have no travel advised, and numerous roads are physically blocked. Portions of I-29 and I-90 are closed. If South Dakotans must travel, they should check or the SD511 mobile app.

Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our web site. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.