State offices in four counties closing as weather worsens

By: - December 15, 2022 2:58 pm

Gov. Kristi Noem has ordered all state government executive branch offices in four eastern South Dakota counties to close immediately, due to deteriorating weather and road conditions.

The counties are Brookings, Lake, Miner and Moody.

State officials continue to monitor the storm. A decision on state government office availability for Friday will be made later today.

A news release from the governor’s office said people should stay home if possible. Portions of interstates 29 and 90 are closed, and many secondary roads are impassable.

Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our web site. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.