State office closures announced for Friday

By: - December 15, 2022 8:37 pm

Gov. Kristi Noem has ordered state government offices remain closed across most of the state on Friday. Offices will close in Hanson, Hutchinson and McCook counties.

Offices will remain open in Bon Homme, Clay, Custer, Fall River, Lincoln, Minnehaha, Turner, Union and Yankton counties. Offices will also remain open in the western portion of Pennington County (including Hill City, Keystone and Rapid City).

While executive branch offices in the rest of the state will be closed, employees will work remotely.

Officials continue to closely monitor the winter storm, which features continued snow accumulations, high winds, falling temperatures, and blowing and drifting snow making traveling conditions dangerous.

People in these counties are encouraged to stay home Friday if possible. If they must travel, they should check or the SD511 mobile app.

Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our web site. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.