Noem closes state offices Wednesday in all but 11 counties

By: - December 13, 2022 6:31 pm

Gov. Kristi Noem ordered state government executive branch offices in all but 11 southeast counties to stay closed Wednesday because of the winter storm that continues to impact the majority of the state, the governor’s office said in a news release.

State offices will be open for normal business hours in Bon Homme, Clay, Davison, Hanson, Hutchinson, Lincoln, McCook, Minnehaha, Turner, Union and Yankton counties. Officials say weather and travel conditions are not as severe in those counties as they are elsewhere.

While executive branch offices in the rest of the state will be closed, employees will work remotely. All of the state’s executive branch offices were closed Tuesday by an earlier order from Noem.

Officials continue to closely monitor the storm, which features heavy snow, freezing rain and high winds. A decision on state government office availability for Thursday will be made Wednesday.

People are encouraged to stay home Wednesday if possible. If they must travel, they should check or the SD511 mobile app, state officials said.

Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our web site. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.